Posted in nest

Project Patio

My husband and I bought our first patio set when we purchased our first home together. That was over ten years ago. We still have it.

The table finally broke this Spring and found its way to the curb. I managed to salvage the chairs for one last season with a bit of black spray paint but, they are on their last legs (pun intended).

Enjoying a glass of wine last night while watching the kids play in the backyard, I realized we were not using the outdoor rooms of our home. It occurred to me that we spend a lot of time in our sunporch on the front of the house because we haven’t made a comfortable outdoor area to spend time in.

The Plan:

I cannot wait to create an outdoor room that we can enjoy as a family that reflects the style we have created on the inside. I really dislike matching sets of outdoor dining furniture so, when I started looking at furniture options, I knew I wanted to combine different pieces for an electic look. As outdoor rooms have become extensions of our homes, outdoor furniture has evolved in to beautiful weather-resistant pieces that will continue to hold up season after season.

I fell in love with a company called Arhaus – honestly, their pieces are so beautiful, they could easily transition to your living room when the weather turns cooler! I am a sucker for a tulip table. And, this one is powder-coated enamel and provides an extremely durable rust-free, UV-resistant finish that is ten times stronger than paint and suitable for all seasons!

I love the idea of offering a variety of seating, some people are even adding sectionals on their patios, but this gorgeous settee bench caught my eye. Featuring sloped arms and sleek lines and fitted with Sunbrella-fabric-covered cushions in a crisp “sail sailor,” it’s a classic addition to the dining table. And, these West Elm Windsor style chairs add a modern update contrast to the wicker bench.

No space that I create would be complete without a bit of plaid. Take a look at this outdoor rug from Crate & Barrel – with just a subtle grid pattern in playful blue.

I love the versatility and style of the Serena & Lily Riviera Bar! Part bar, part party bucket, this console features two removable teak lids that create an instant work surface; open them up to reveal the two water-tight bins below. A lower shelf gives you plenty of room for bottles, napkins, glasses and tabletop accessories. And, it also doubles as a planter! Over time, the teak surfaces will weather to a beautiful silvery grey.

Add in enamel dishes (swoon!), napkins, lighting, and a few cushions – and my dream space is well on its way to being my favourite room at my house!

Sources:

Table, Bench – Arhaus

Carpet – Crate & Barrel

Chairs – West Elm

Dishes, Cushions, Lights, Bar – Serena & Lily

Table Linens – Anthropologie

 

 


Author:

mother, foodstylist, DIY enthusiast, antique shop hunter, master fusser, food fanatic, and decorating magazine collector.

Leave a Reply

