The other red suit.

For the past few years, I have watched in amazement at the Christmas phenomenon known as, ‘elf on the shelf’.  It has literally changed Christmas as we know it. Children now not only have Santa Claus’ nice list to worry about …they also have an elf that lives in their house and comes to life at night. My first impression of our elf (her name is, Gumdrop and she has a serious sweet tooth) was that it was a little creepy. But, kids have a wonderful imagination so, I embraced it for their sake, thinking that it would be a fun way to create excitement leading up to Santa.

Except in our house that didn’t happen.

I remember the first time I tried to play “elf” for my kids. My oldest, 4 then, just looked at me and quite literally, said, “you moved  him”. I was speechless. I was also a little worried. Why had every other kid embraced this concept and she didn’t buy in to it for a  moment.

e7f49ac89bc08fe260296878b85e6740

I didn’t even unpack Gumdrop last year.

A few weeks ago as we were unpacking all the holiday decorations, we found her. My daughter  asked if our elf was going to move this year? Consequently, my youngest, followed suit. So, here I was, completely out of practice. I had, up to this point, been sheltered (a.k.a. escaped) the elf on the shelf. So, the first few days of December was a struggle remembering to move the elf. I was clearly out of practice. But, by week two, I think I have the hang of it.

The elf on the shelf might be silly and yes, a bit creepy but, believing in any part of Christmas magic is sweet. And truthfully as a parent, it almost makes you believe it all again yourself.

 

One Reply to “The other red suit.”

Leave a Reply

