Posted in Uncategorized

big girl panties

The power of words is surprising. Every so often, someone will say something to you that sticks with you. The words that they share with you will remain long after they are gone. Hopefully, those people bring words that inspire, teach, support, and nurture. Because those words will shape how you feel about the world.

I realized last week just how powerful words are. I was walking through a store and abruptly stopped. There sitting on a shelf was a piece of art that echoed words that my co-worker had often said to me.

It was hot (Summer in New Orleans), things were not going as planned, tempers were flaring and my colleague and I were stressed. I wasn’t complaining but, I wasn’t happy. and he knew me well enough to know that I was on the verge of tears. He looked at me , and very matter of factually, he said “Amanda, put your big girl panties on and deal with it”.  It wasn’t rude, it was just a sympathetic reminder that we were in this together and I had to pull my weight of the team work and not get discouraged. It worked. We would often joke with each other and he would remind me what he said that day.

Fast forward to present day, my friend is no longer with us yet, his words were right there on that piece of art. And, now it is hanging on my wall in my current office as a reminder of him.

Those words were likely casually chosen that day but, carry so much weight years later. I often refer to them when I need a little nudge. Life is a perfect mess and you have a choice in every situation – you can give up or you can put your big girl panties on and deal with it.

Author:

mother, foodstylist, DIY enthusiast, antique shop hunter, master fusser, food fanatic, and decorating magazine collector.

Leave a Reply

