good people.

The older I get and the more experiences I have, I learn just how important it is to surround yourself with good people. I will admit that there was a period of time that I was less social than I am now. Mostly because I was busy building a career and a family. Truthfully, I was also a little disheartened.

Good people are hard to find.

I have had a few dear friends in my life that I cherished but, for whatever reason, those friendships have grown apart – some geographic and others, just fizzled. Building friendships when you are an adult is far more difficult. Schedules compress, priorities change and people often become pickier in what they want in their friends. I know I did.

The period for making friends the way you did in your teens or early 20’s, is pretty much over. You don’t have the same amount of “free” time to invest in those friendships – and often they were situational (who you spent your time with at school, work, home) and not strategic.

I have a clear understanding of who I am now. I focus on what is most emotionally important to me so, I am less interested in going to that cocktail party and making “small talk” with strangers and would rather stay in and spend time with my kids.

But, I have found some recent friendships that have allowed me to let my friendship guard down. I love spending time around people who inspire me to become a better version of myself. It isn’t a forced admiration – it is genuine. I want to surround myself with people who without trying to, make me look at life in a lighter way. I didn’t realize that I was missing those friendships as much as I was.

So, this post is a little note to those good people who have walked in to my life. You are stuck with me now cause I like you and you are my friend.

3 Replies to “good people.”

Leave a Reply

