when Summer ends.

I woke up this morning and the air had changed.

I not happy about it. Not even for a minute.

Fall is a beautiful time of year. The air is crisp and there is a freshness to it. It is the start of a new season, a clean slate. The fashion is lovely. The colours are deep and vibrant. It is all of those things. But; honestly, it is just a sad, abrupt end to my beach bum days.  It’s a reminder that bathing suits will soon get packed away for months, not weeks. Picnics will move indoors and casseroles served. And, hats and mittens will be necessities and not sunscreen.

Our Maritime summers are far too short. I wait impatiently for them to begin and am never ready for them to end.

So, what does a girl do when confronted with something so disconcerting that she can’t control?

Well, I walked straight to Starbucks this morning (wishing I had decided to wear pants today and not a  sundress). I took my first sip of my Pumpkin Spice latte and was instantly reminded, comforted, and content. Starbucks has people like me all figured out. Start an addiction when people are at their most vulnerable. It happens every year.

#PSL. Makes me love fall all over again. when summer ends.

1148888_10151599653603663_1368630606_n

Leave a Reply

