Posted in Uncategorized

MY little storefront. that was.

Maybe its the rain. Or the fact that I haven’t run in over a week.

But, I find myself feeling nostalgic about my little storefront that was. Not teary eyed, but, sentimental, reflecting on that experience. What was great about it? What would I have done differently? What ifs… you get the idea.

I have done many things in my life but, nothing that felt so natural to me as owning my little store. It fit perfectly.

I have imagined and re-imagined my company’s business plan so many times. But; the truth is, handcrafted baby clothing is not going to replace a salary or lifestyle that I want or that I have become accustomed to. At least not in Halifax, Nova Scotia. We don’t have a large enough marketplace or a demand for handcrafted, reclaimed, organic wares like big cities. Maybe my timing was off. Taking this on when my children were so small was challenging. Maybe I put too much pressure on myself, in too short of a time frame. Maybe…

I tried to sell my embroidery machine recently, only it ended in someone trying to steal my identity via PayPal – perhaps it was a sign? Now the machine sits in the corner – like the elephant in the room. I know that I have to make a decision – does it stay or should it go?

People have so many opinions. And, I appreciate advice. But, sometimes you just want to hear what YOU WANT to hear and not what others think you need to hear.

On a rainy Wednesday morning (Starbucks in hand), here are the things that I want to hear. In my heart. Forget about my head and all the rest.

Author:

mother, foodstylist, DIY enthusiast, antique shop hunter, master fusser, food fanatic, and decorating magazine collector.

4 thoughts on “MY little storefront. that was.

  1. I have felt all that you are feeling and I have learned a few things along the way:
    1) One success or failure does not a character make. Meaning: I felt defined by my success in my first business and was completely scared when my second one was not doing as well. You are not defined by business success or failure. It took me a little while to learn this.

    2) It is REALLY, REALLY hard to put everything you need into a business when you have young children.

    3) Life does not stop because you are a mom to young children – I have made plenty of business contacts since we moved who are women in their late 40s and in the prime of their business lives now that their children are off to university. Many of them took it very slowly when their kids were little out of necessity.

    4) Sustaining a brick and mortar location is HARD, HARD work. It’s a baby that never grows up. It needs constant attention and unlike a child who gains independence, a store’s success is very much a product of what you put in to it, and what you can put into it is much less when your children are small.

    5) Financial rewards for operating a store are few and far between. Five years in and many are still operating with the same overdraft they started with. If you are a wholesaler, support your retailers with everything you have – offer them incentives and rewards for being great product sellers, get to know them, support them with POS products and PR to help them sell your product better. Your goal is not not just sell more units, but to help your retailers sell more units.

    6) Allow your business plan to change and grow as the market does. Case in point: http://business.financialpost.com/2013/06/02/how-indie-clothing-company-preloved-reclaimed-its-street-cred/.

Leave a Reply

