Posted in Uncategorized

ECMC mom power.

The East Coast Momma Collective (ECMC) is a coming together of Atlantic Canadian Moms who love to knit, sew, bake, decorate…and create! The collective hosts two fairs a year in Halifax so these talented moms can sell their unique products in a market-like setting, giving others the opportunity to buy ‘one-of-a-kind’ locally-made gifts and connect with local Mom-run businesses.

But, it turns out, it means so much more than that.

It was an easy decision to join. But, if someone told me that the ECMC would mean as much to me as it DOES or that I would get such enjoyment out of it as I DO, I would not have believed it was possible!

As an aspiring entrepreneur, you do a lot of networking. A LOT. But, joining the ECMC has been {by far} the most beneficial business opportunity that I have been a part of. It didn’t require me to take courses, create a business plan, sit through lectures, attend conferences, and I didn’t receive any funding from joining the collective. It doesn’t ask anything of me really; other than for me to be who I am and do what I do.

Pursuing a career, building a family, and starting your own business made a void of “extra time” in my life. I forgot how important it was to make time for friends and extracurricular activities in my life. I no longer had the time like you do when you are in school to focus on building those connections. You grow apart, move away, and change course so many times in your life. I didn’t realize how much I was missing those connections. The ECMC has inspired me, grown my business, and encouraged me to keep going. But, most of all, it put me in a room, on a facebook page, on a website, at a fair, with women who I WANT to be friends with. I admire them. And, I am proud to be a part of their “group”.

I feel more empowered, accepted, and inspired after being with this group of women than I ever thought possible. And, for that, I am thankful.

150169_527234180652173_649397852_n

Author:

mother, foodstylist, DIY enthusiast, antique shop hunter, master fusser, food fanatic, and decorating magazine collector.

2 thoughts on “ECMC mom power.

  1. Well said Amanda, ECMC has changed my entire little business! And it is just so much fun to be a part of. So happy to have discovered all of you a year ago.

Leave a Reply

