Posted in Uncategorized

The ONE problem with Food Styling.

I am a sucker for pretty things. As soon as see something I like, I immediately try to justify why I need it in my inventory of props. Problem is, buying ONE dish becomes more normal than actually having a set of anything.  I have so many ONE offs; cupboards full of single plates, cups, bowls, spoons, glasses, placemats and napkins. It is pretty rare that I come home with two of anything and when I do, its usually the same version of something in another colour or pattern. But, as a food stylist, finding that ONE object that makes the food shine…is well, tougher than it looks. If you go out looking for it when you are in a hurry, you will never find it. The trick is to always be on the look out for unique pieces that have character and take a dish from ordinary to extraordinary. I get inspired by the silliest things – nostalgic pieces that remind me of my grandparent’s old farm house, milk glass, fiestaware dishes, tin ware, old market signage,  wire baskets, barn board, turquoise and orange anything, and mason jars. So, yes, I am a props junkie (obviously). But, I like to keep it on a budget by buying just ONE. 🙂

Here are some of my favourite props to work with.

Author:

mother, foodstylist, DIY enthusiast, antique shop hunter, master fusser, food fanatic, and decorating magazine collector.

One thought on “The ONE problem with Food Styling.

  1. I love this post! I am constantly trying to improve my food styling and have recently discovered the wonders of thrift store shopping….aaaand the need to update my tetanus shots as I stomp around behind old barns ripping pieces of barn board off of precarious structures….

Leave a Reply

